Summer CSA 2016: Week 21

This week, we received: 1 zucchini, 1 cucumber, 3 green onions, 2 potatoes, 1 large green pepper, 1 onion, 1 tomato, and some grapes (half of what is pictured).

20160908_175131

I bought an Instant Pot Pressure Cooker on Amazon Prime day ($65). I had heard it is a good kitchen tool to have if you are trying to feed a family after a full day of work. And this pot also works as a slow cooker with a warming feature. I hadn’t used our crockpot much because there was no automatic “keep warm” feature – the pot just continued to cook food. I used the pot once to make potatoes. They were under-seasoned, but nothing exploded. I haven’t used it since, but I decided I should give it another try before mid-October, when our family will go from 2 to 3.

I decided to make zucchini risotto in the Pressure Cooker, using this recipe (and adding much more parmesan cheese at the end). It only took about 30 minutes, even with cutting and sautéing some zucchini and the onion. The risotto turned out great! I’m proud of myself.

We snacked on the green pepper and cucumber raw. We actually took only a quarter of the grapes. Scott’s assessment of them: “The time it takes to eat these seedy grapes isn’t worth the benefit. My cost-benefit analysis led me to give up on them.” (Maybe not a direct quote, but yes, the cost-benefit analysis part was there. He also talked about there being no predators around. I’m not sure what that part was about.)

We put the green onions and tomato on tacos.

The potatoes will keep for another week.

Save

4 thoughts on “Summer CSA 2016: Week 21”

    1. Right – wouldn’t that decrease the cost of eating the grapes? So he shouldn’t have given up, because he had time away from predators to eat time-consuming food.

      1. Possibly. But if more calories are spent removing seeds–which is what I gather was at work–than are gained from eating the grapes, it is still a net loss.

        I do not apologize for the pun.

  1. Yes, a net loss – but then why mention predators if they weren’t part of your reason for giving up eating? I know what he wanted to say – and you are re-saying it well – I just thought it was a little over the top to evoke predators when he’d already decided the cost was too high without them 🙂

Leave a Reply

