Winter CSA 2015-2016: Week 15

This week, we received: three heads of lettuce, some Chinese cabbage, some apples, a bunch of beets, and some kohlrabi.

20160211_175452

We got a few extra veggies this week since a friend who is also part of the CSA had a surgery and didn’t want her produce this week, so C and I got bigger shares. We also gave some produce to another couple.

I made a stir-fry with the Chinese cabbage on Thursday night. (I mean, I had all the ingredients from last week.) I made up the sauce (some condensed chicken broth from Trader Joe’s, ginger, garlic, soy sauce, red wine vinegar and Sriracha), and it turned out pretty good.

I roasted the beets to eat as a side throughout the week. We ate the apples for lunch and the lettuce as dinner sides.

The kohlrabi, which is a German “turnip,” was used to make fake coleslaw. I grated it and a carrot, salted and spiced the vegetables, and added an avocado cream sauce. It was fine. I confirmed that it’s the mayo in coleslaw I hate… and Scott confirmed that he just hates grated vegetables.

2 thoughts on “Winter CSA 2015-2016: Week 15”

Leave a Reply

