Winter CSA 2015-2016: Week 11

 

This week, we received: some turnips, three small beets, broccoli greens, more kale, a rutabaga, basil, a half bag of pecans, and lettuce.

20160114_180110

This week it was so, so hard to keep up with the CSA. We had a busy week, and we ended up eating out a lot! On Thursday evening, I met up with some women for a monthly get together and ate Mexican food at the host’s house for dinner. Scott ate a frozen pizza. On Saturday, I volunteered from 9:30-12:30, and by the time I got home I was too hungry to make a real meal, so I had macaroni and cheese. On Saturday night, we realized this was likely Scott’s last Packers game of the season, so we ordered a pizza to make it special. On Monday (school was closed for MLK day), we went hiking near OKC – we had sandwiches for lunch and ate dinner out. On Tuesday around 1pm, I found out that I won tickets to the OSU vs. Kansas men’s basketball game at 6pm that night. (OSU beat Kansas, which was ranked 3, by 19 points!) Since I teach until 4:45 on Tuesdays, we didn’t have enough time to go home and cook a meal before the game, so we ate out again! Needless to say, with all this eating out, we did not finish the CSA this week.

I made a chicken noodle soup and added the kale and broccoli greens. I also added some carrots and noodles. I didn’t really follow a recipe, and I wish I would have followed an Asian inspired one – something with soy and fish sauce and sriracha. Does anyone have a great Asian chicken noodle soup recipe? (Or, spoiler alert, a soup recipe that uses Korean radishes?)

soup

On Wednesday night, I roasted the turnips, beets, and rutabaga. Rutabaga takes longer to cook, so you should cut it smaller than the other veggies. But we ate leftover soup, and the veggies are sitting – ready to eat – in the fridge.

We’ve also eaten a few salads with the lettuce.

I haven’t used the pecans or the basil yet.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Winter CSA 2015-2016: Week 11”

Leave a Reply

