Winter CSA 2015-16: Week 6

This week, we received: Napa cabbage, Korean radish, 2 types of lettuce, arugula, radicchio, two types of kale, chives, and tomatoes.

20151210_182837

We ate all the lettuce, some arugula, some radicchio, and the tomatoes on Thursday night. We had to eat the tomatoes right away since they were on their last leg.

I made a non-creamy Zuppa Toscana with the kale. I used turkey sausage. This is one of our favorite soups.

Scott ate arugula and kale as snacks. And I made a smoothie with the radicchio (and raspberries, yogurt, and milk).

The Korean vegetables – the radish and cabbage – have not been used yet. I thought about making kimchi, but I’m worried about not getting rid of all of the bad bacteria and making us sick. Maybe now that classes are done, I’ll have more courage. Then again, I might not make it, ever. I don’t like sauerkraut, so I’m not sure I would like kimchi. I ate kimchi once in college but I also had some Asian beer that night, so the memory of the taste isn’t perfectly preserved. Have you ever made kimchi? Do you have any tricks?

The chives are sitting in our produce drawer while I contemplate sending them up to the freezer. Do you know any ways to get through a large amount of them in a short time? Or is freezing the best option for me?

2 thoughts on “Winter CSA 2015-16: Week 6”

Leave a Reply

