Winter CSA 2015-16: Week 2

This week, we received: 3 heads of (butter?) lettuce, a half bag of baby greens (which I think were actually teenaged), two turnips with their greens, 4 jalapeño peppers, 2 small eggplants, a small zucchini, and two sweet potatoes.

12248732_10106909595976210_1675466338_n

We ate the lettuce with frozen pizza, because we’re classy like that.

I made something called roasted turnips, sweet potatoes, an apple, and dried cranberries. I think I like things that are named for their ingredients. No surprises. The dish was, predictably, pretty sweet. We composted the turnip greens; they were on their last leg when we got them, and I couldn’t bring myself to eat them.

I made baked chips with a left over sweet potato.

I baked the eggplant and zucchini together as a side, after preparing the eggplant with towels and salt.

I froze the jalapeño peppers from the CSA with seven jalapeño peppers from our container garden. Our first frost came on Thursday night.

1 thought on “Winter CSA 2015-16: Week 2”

Leave a Reply

