CSA 2015: Week 24

This week, we received: 1.5 bell peppers, a bunch of hatch chiles, a bunch of banana peppers, a jalapeño pepper, one eggplant, one pattypan squash, 6 peaches (only 2 were bruised and had to be eaten right away), 5 apples, 3 pears, concord grapes (again), and eggs.

DSC04564

We have so many peppers! Cooking and baking with hot peppers is especially challenging to me, since I did not grow up eating hot peppers… or even mild peppers… or black pepper, really. And my tolerance for spicy foods reflects my pepper-less upbringing. I’ve been looking for recipes that mix small amounts of peppers into large amounts of fats or carbohydrates.

I found a recipe for stuffed banana peppers, which we ate while watching football on Sunday. I changed some items in the recipe to make it less labor-intensive: I only dipped the stuffed peppers into egg – not milk – and I did not refrigerate between dipping layers. They were pretty good. And, yes, my nose ran when I ate them.

DSC04566First, I roasted the hatch chiles on an indoor griddle. Then, I froze half of the chiles, and I put the rest into some focaccia bread with caramelized onions. I altered this recipe, too, by adding more whole-wheat flour (about 1.5 cups of whole-wheat 2.5 cups of all-purpose flour (which was mixed with some bread flour that I had almost emptied). The bread wasn’t too spicy for me… if I ate it with cheese.

DSC04567And, we’ve been snacking on the bell peppers. Scott will need to eat the jalapeño. I’m not cooking with it.

I roasted the pattypan squash and eggplant with two giant cloves of garlic, salt, pepper, and a tbsp of olive oil. I was inspired by this blog post.

I bought some vanilla yogurt to help me eat more peaches. We’ve been taking the apples and pears to lunch. Scott isn’t a fan of the green ones, so I’ve been eating them.

I can’t even with the grapes. I cleaned and froze them. But we’re running out of room in the freezer. I don’t know what to do. I mean, I know things to do with them, but they are so time-consuming. It was all I could do to make bread this weekend.

We had a few more eggs to eat after making the poppers. I made some and used the bread as a side. It was pretty good together. The bread is very savory. I also made some cookie dough – I had enough time to mix ingredients, but I haven’t found the time to turn on the oven yet.

Leave a Reply

