CSA 2015: Week 23

The truck didn’t break down! This week we received: half a watermelon, one bell pepper, three cucumbers, one summer squash, one zucchini, eggs, grapes, six peaches, and eight apples.

DSC04534I think the watermelon was a “Desert King,” but watermelon varieties are complicated.

I made jam with the concord grapes. I had almost two cups of grapes, so I used 1.5 cups of sugar. The house smelled like some grape medicine I had to take as a kid. The medicine tasted surprisingly good because it was so sugary.

DSC04563

We’ve been eating watermelon for breakfasts, apples at lunch, and peaches as the mood hits. I cut up the bell pepper and cucumbers for snacking. I made some “real” hummus from chickpeas to use as a dip. We baked the summer squash and zucchini with chicken.

We used all six eggs to make tortilla Española. This was truly a team effort, I did the cutting prep, cooked the potatoes and onions, and soaked the mixture in eggs. Scott did the cooking and the flipping. I can’t even watch when he does the flip. He’s now successfully done the flip two out of two times.

DSC04562

1 thought on “CSA 2015: Week 23”

Leave a Reply

