CSA 2015: Week 22

This week, we received: 2 summer squash, 3 (pickling?) cucumbers, 3-4 smallish bell peppers, some lettuce, a cup of black-eyed peas, half an eggplant, some chives, grapes, peaches, and apples.

The truck broke down (again) on its way to Stillwater on Thursday. I found out about the delay when I drove to the drop-off site. The farmer delivered the produce to our house later that night. So, I finally met the farmer. But I wonder what will happen next week. I am glad I had Thursday night to shell beans. I didn’t take a picture, as you can see – I had such little time to deal with the produce that I didn’t want to spend time taking a picture.

I made a makeshift hummus with the black-eyed peas and eggplant (and chives… because they’re there). There wasn’t a recipe, so I made my own. And we ate it with cucumbers (and pita crackers).

Black-eyed pea and eggplant “hummus”

Ingredients:

  • ½ large eggplant
  • 1-cup black-eyed peas
  • 1-2 garlic cloves, depending on taste
  • 5 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp black pepper
  • (some chives, because why not?)

Directions:

  1. Cook beans (canned, fresh, and dried beans require different preparations)
  2. Prepare eggplant: dry on paper towels with salt and cut
  3. Bake the eggplant for at 350 for about 40 about minutes.
  4. Drain beans and peal eggplants, if desired
  5. Blend all ingredients (except chives or other garnish). Slowly add water if too thick.
  6. Garnish and eat with cukes

The hummus-y dip is a little bland. Scott added Sriracha and all was fine.

A friend invited me over for a beer, and I brought roasted grapes (grapeseed oil, brown sugar, balsamic vinegar), soft cheese (ricotta) and crostini. No picture, but it

I made some more breakfast sandwiches with eggs and chives.

We ate the bell peppers (raw) and the summer squash (roasted) as sides. And apples and peaches have made appearances at breakfast and lunch.

Finally, we had burgers on Tuesday night that we topped with the lettuce.

Leave a Reply

