CSA 2015: Week 13

This week, we received: two small heads of cauliflower, 3 summer squash, 3 tomatoes (one yellow), two spring onions, two ears of corn, parsley, a bag of peaches, and six eggs.

20150702_181938

Our first night with the new produce, I made bruschetta with two tomatoes, one onion bulb, a handful of basil from the garden, one clove of garlic, ¼ cup of Italian blend cheese (leftover from the quiche), 3 tbsp of olive oil, 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar, and salt and pepper. I bought a baguette from Panera and toasted it in the oven. I asked Scott to look up a recipe to help me with proportions – and he astutely picked the one called “best bruschetta ever.” It was really good.

I took care of the peaches right away on Thursday night. Losing half my peaches last week was a sad experience for me. Unfortunately, I still lost about a quarter of the peaches. I ate pieces from about three peaches for dessert on Thursday night. I stored two un-ripened peaches in the fridge to snack on later. I peeled and froze about eight peaches. And five peaches were deteriorated enough to go directly to the compost.

We had corn on the cob as a side on the Fourth of July – with burgers and avocado and Halcyon Wheat, which is a great summer beer.

I sautéed the summer squash with grape seed oil, salt, and pepper. We ate it with chickenless nuggets. Some onion, tomato, parsley, cheese, and eggs went into an omelet. We (I) just snacked on the cauliflower raw. And I made some cookie dough with two of the eggs. (It’s too hot to bake right now.)

Leave a Reply

