CSA 2015: Week 10

 This week we received extra produce since the friends we split our half share with are on vacation. We got: 5 quarts of strawberries; 1 quart of blackberries*; 6 eggs; a bunch of radicchio; a pint of snow peas; turnips (with greens); a big bag of green beans; and basil.

DSC04068

As is becoming a Thursday tradition, I made a pizza and topped it with sausage, basil and some radicchio. Scott wasn’t a fan of either the basil or radicchio.

DSC04069

I roasted the rest of the radicchio and the turnips with balsamic vinegar, olive oil, thyme (from the garden), pepper, and salt. I was inspired by two recipes: one for turnips and one for radicchio. I roasted the coated turnips at 450 degrees Fahrenheit for 25 minutes. Then I threw in the lightly coated radicchio and roasted everything for 10 more minutes. I made chicken to go with this – and I brined it for 15 minutes before baking. I put on just a little too much Lawry’s seasoning salt, though. It was still edible.

DSC04156

I used the rest of the basil to make pesto and ate it with whole-wheat spaghetti. We ate the green beans (boiled) as a side with other meals. I threw the snow peas and tomatoes from C & C’s garden on a salad.

I ate some strawberries with whipped cream for dessert. And I made a pie with 3 quarts of the strawberries. I know I’ve raved about wholesome piecrusts in the past, but I didn’t use one this time. (Whole Foods is the only place I know that sells this brand, and it wasn’t worth an 80-minute drive just for a piecrust). I used Mrs. Smiths, since that was the only non-Pillsbury brand at our local Food Pyramid. I agree with the reviewers from Better Homes and Gardens: the pie crust is a bit heavy and salty.

DSC04070

I made a smoothie with the blackberries and turnip greens. Thanks to C & C for the blender (They had a spare one that they gave to us. I’m still thinking about buying a new one, though, since the blender didn’t handle ice cubes very well. But I’m not sure how much to spend on something like that.) It wasn’t my favorite smoothie, but I’m not a huge blackberry or turnip green fan, so I think it was a good way to eat this produce.

DSC04139

We finished all our egg breakfast sandwiches, so it was time to make a few more. I used turkey bacon and cheddar cheese.

 

*Our friends got a really great fruit share – strawberries that weren’t overripe, blueberries, raspberries, and blackberries. S and I got 5 quarts of strawberries, many overripe. Last week, the farm forgot C & C’s fruit share, so we figure this is a “sorry” fruit share. But, man, I wish we’d gotten some blueberries. Makes me think it’s better to get our fruit from a farmer’s market so we don’t just eat strawberries all June.

Leave a Reply

