Preparing for the up-coming CSA season: Kitchen Tools

Our veggie CSA starts in 5 days! The fruit share will be delayed for a couple of weeks.

On the same day I bought a new kitchen tool – a grill topper to cook up veggies without turning on the oven and heating up our house too much – I read an article about a minimalist kitchen. I started thinking about which kitchen tools I need and which kitchen tools I don’t really need.

Kitchen tools are difficult for me to evaluate. On the one hand, I don’t want to have stuff just to have stuff. On the other hand, if you have the right kitchen tool, food preparation is so much easier than when you don’t have the perfect tool. (I used to use a fork as a pastry cutter, but a year ago, I found a pastry cutter at a garage sale – and I love it.)

I’ve been thinking about my kitchen, and here are the items I use the most during CSA season:

  1. Vegetable peeler – Potato soup
  2. Mandolin Slicer – Sweet potato chips
  3. Food Processor – Beet pesto, Pizza crust
  4. Immersion blender – Puréed soups (you can use a food processor for this, but it’s a lot more work)
  5. Dutch Oven – soup, meat, bread
  6. Mason jars – great for storing food and you can microwave the lidless jar
  7. Pastry Cloth – A lot more pizzas and tarts get made when clean up is easier
  8. Skillet – omelets, quesadillas, and grilled sandwiches

What “special” kitchen gadget do you use the most during the CSA season?

Leave a Reply

