Preparing for the up-coming CSA season: Grocery Shopping List

Screen Shot 2015-03-08 at 5.34.48 PM I learned a lot last year about preparing a wide range of vegetables. I learned that several different bitter greens are pretty much interchangeable, so if I see a recipe that calls for kale, I can use any bitter green that I have on hand. I learned that cheeses and sauces make everything more palatable. I learned that sweet potatoes should be eaten in moderation (at least with my sensitive stomach). And I learned which types of ingredients I frequently use when preparing CSA vegetables. This year, I will have some items in my pantry already in place when we pick up our first CSA delivery in mid-April. Here’s my CSA grocery shopping list. You’ll see that we’re not vegetarians and that we eat a lot of cheese (Scott is from Wisconsin). I hope you can use this food list as a starting point as you prepare for your own CSA season – even if you are a vegetarian or a vegan.

Pantry

  1. Whole-wheat pasta (I bought thin spaghetti with this recipe in mind)
  2. Whole-wheat and white flour
  3. Sugar (if you get pecans)
  4. Broth
  5. Orzo
  6. Beans
  7. Nuts (check out this beet pesto recipe)

Vinegars, Oils, Sauces, and Juice

  1. Hot sauce
  2. Balsamic Vinegar
  3. White vinegar
  4. Soy sauce
  5. Rice vinegar
  6. Extra virgin olive oil
  7. Sesame oil
  8. Lemon juice

Dry Spices

  1. Salt
  2. Black pepper
  3. Red pepper

Produce

  1. Ginger
  2. Garlic
  3. Shallots
  4. Onions (yellow) 

Animal Products

  1. Parmesan cheese
  2. Goat cheese
  3. Mozzarella cheese
  4. Heavy cream
  5. Milk
  6. Butter
  7. Eggs (which will come in our CSA share this year!)
  8. Bacon
  9. Spicy sausages (for something like this stew)

Extras

  1. Whole-wheat pre-made pie crust (for quiches with greens)
  2. Baguette (because carbs go with everything)
Leave a Reply

