Sewing Project: Rice Heat Pads

In college (over 10 years ago?!) I made some rice heating pads with men’s tube socks and cotton fabric covers. I burned the rice. About 3 years ago, I got a new rice heating pad as a favor at my sister-in-law’s baby shower. My feet and hands are always cold in the winter – and I’ve been using the heating pad frequently, so frequently that a small hole is forming in the fabric.

DSC02727

I needed to make a replacement. But I knew I wouldn’t use the tube sock method. And I wasn’t too impressed with the construction of the favor heating pad, so I wasn’t going to copy that pattern. I found this tutorial online and thought it was perfect. I love the idea of a flannel layer to keep the pad warm longer. And I think the construction of this bag looks classy – even with forgoing hand sewing the bag closed.

DSC02726

I cut out the fabric to be 5 inches by 11 inches. Since there were four layers I was sewing together, I pinned the fabric together about every 3 inches. I filled the bag with about 1 3/4 cups of rice. I think it would have been slightly better with 1.5 cups of rice.

DSC02729

I heat it for about 50 seconds – and it does stay warm longer than the non-flannel rice pack.

Leave a Reply

