Sweet Potato and Andouille Sausage Soup

The best “thing” I got from the Community Agriculture Share this summer is the confidence to experiment in the kitchen – and the knowledge of what types of tastes complement each other.

When we flew into Dallas for our Costa Rica trip, we also visited Trader Joe’s before heading back home to Oklahoma. I love Trader Joe’s. I love Trader Joe’s so much that my mother-in-law Nancy bought me the “I heart Trader Joe’s” cookbook for Christmas. (The prosciutto-wrapped chicken is great!)

Trader Joe’s is great because there are so many high quality products. I picked up some sweet potato bisque (link for ingredients, nutrition info) and some Andouille sausage (mostly because I made a recipe this summer that called for this type of sausage as a substitute when you can’t find the sausage they used, but I couldn’t even find any Andouille here in Oklahoma) – among other things.

DSC02724

I totally made up this soup recipe. And it’s good. Spicy, but good. (Scott said, “This is my perfect spice level!” … as I sat eating with my nose running.)

DSC02723

Here’s the recipe:

 Sweet Potato and Andouille Sausage Soup

Serves: 4-6 servings

 Ingredients:

  • 1 package of Andouille Sausage
  • 1 box of TJ’s sweet potato bisque
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, diced
  • Ginger, to taste
  • ½ cup heavy cream

Directions:

  1. Remove sausage from casing and brown meat. Once cooked, remove meat. Do not drain grease (we barely had any grease).
  2. Cook onions for a few minutes. Add garlic and ginger. Cook until onions are translucent.
  3. Combine onions, garlic and ginger with meat and bisque. Simmer soup. (At this point the soup looked to “chunky” to me –so I used my immersion blender to make the soup look more uniform.)
  4. Finally, add the cream and serve.
1 thought on “Sweet Potato and Andouille Sausage Soup”

Leave a Reply

