CSA: Week 25

We got: green beans, bell peppers, gypsy peppers, eggplant, sweet potatoes, and turnip greens:

DSC01769 This week has been kind of hard as far as an eating-at-home schedule goes. On Monday, I teach a night class in Tulsa, OK, so I don’t get home until 9pm. On Wednesday, I met with other linguists in Stillwater for a presentation and pizza in the evening. On Thursday, we didn’t get home from work until 6:45pm – already too hungry to wait an hour to eat the meal I had planned for the eggplant. We finally have (or at least prepared) most of the produce. But it’s been tough.

I cut up the peppers right away for lunches. And I also cooked the green beans to use as a quick side.

I made a creamy soup with the sweet potatoes. I left out the nutmeg and used yellow curry powder. I also used fresh ginger and doubled the amount of red chili. I think this would have tasted even better with coconut instead of half-and-half. I also found out it is possible to eat too many sweet potatoes at once.

DSC01795

The eggplant went into a pasta dish called pasta alla Norma (along with tomatoes that took 1.5 hours to roast in the oven). We put Parmesan cheese on top instead of ricotta salata. And, since we were eating way after the sun set, I left out the fresh basil (too dark and buggy to be picking basil at that time of day). It was still good… as good as eggplant can get when it’s been cooked and then stored and then heated up again (in the toaster oven). Here’s a picture of the vegetables freshly cooked and about to be stored:

DSC01796

And here’s a picture of the final product:

DSC01800

Leave a Reply

