CSA: Week 20

This week we got: potatoes, cherry tomatoes, red peppers, green peppers, and some eatin’ tomatoes (Cherokee purple).

DSC01471

We’ve been eating the Cherokee purple tomatoes as a side or as a snack. We even shared them and some homebrew with our new Stillwater friends, Carol and Christian. I also snacked on the red peppers raw. 

DSC01472

I sautéed some more green peppers in olive oil and salt to use as a side.

DSC01473

We now have a collection of four big, bulbous green peppers, so I made stuffed peppers. I stuffed the peppers with ground turkey, brown rice, cherry tomatoes, and onions. I topped the peppers with ricotta cheese. The stuffed peppers were inspired by two recipes (no bread crumbs, different cheese and used Worchester sauce). Here they are before baking and after baking. 

DSC01522DSC01524

Lastly, I used our potatoes and some leftover onions from last week to make creamy potato soup. The soup was by this recipe. I added an extra piece of bacon, nixed the celery, halved the broth, used dried red peppers instead of Cajun spice, and added a ½ tsp of garlic powder. This recipe allowed me to use my immersion blender for the first time – besides smoothies and energy drinks, that is. I’ve never put carrots in tomato soup before – and I really like it. I’ll be making this again when the weather gets cooler. (We’re still getting highs in the upper 90s).

DSC01505

Leave a Reply

