CSA: Week 19

We’re just past the half-way mark since our CSA is about 26 weeks long. This week’s haul was: more greens, red peppers, green peppers, cherry tomatoes, granny melons, carrots, and yellow onions.

DSC01450I had a potluck on Friday, so I made a salad-salad (reduplication!) for it. I used the greens, some of the red peppers, some carrots, and some tomatoes. I dressed it with the same honey-lemon salad dressing from last week. I chose this dressing because the greens were very bitter and the honey made them more palatable. I took a picture of the salad this time (undressed – racy!) 

DSC01454

We’ve been snacking on the leftover carrots, tomatoes, and red peppers. I was able to get rid of all the greens in the potluck salad. And granny plums. I should come up with a more appetizing name for these guys. I thought about making stuffed green peppers, but that seemed like a lot of work. Plus, we only had a couple normal shaped ones. I sautéed some of the green peppers in oil and salt, which made them less bitter. 

DSC01473

I decided to use the onions in a honey-roasted onion tart, which I greatly modified from this recipe. The first modification is no bacon. Not because I wanted a vegetarian meal but because I forgot to put it on the shopping list. The second modification is that I did not use crème fraîche. Not only can you not buy crème fraîche in Stillwater (at least on a regular basis), you can also not buy buttermilk to use to make your own. I did not look up substitutes for crème fraîche before going to the store, so I did the best I could: I got some ricotta cheese and some sour cream to mix together as a substitute (1:3 ratio). I don’t recall eating crème fraîche before, so I can’t speak to how this substitute compares; however, I thought the flavors complemented each other. The final modifications is that I used phyllo dough instead of a puff pastry (mistake, don’t repeat this modification-phyllo dough is much more work intensive). This recipe includes an amazing way to caramelize onions in the oven—I will never again caramelize onions on my stovetop. You mix your onions with ¼ cup white wine and ¼ cup honey and roast at 375 degrees for about an hour turning them every 15 minutes.

DSC01468

Leave a Reply

