CSA: Week 11

This week we received: Cherokee lettuce, Blue Lake green beans, (more) leeks, (more) bright lights chard, and (more) collards.

DSC00970

Our newsletter said that we were also supposed to receive more Bok Choy, but we didn’t. I have mixed feelings about this. On the one hand, I am sick of Bok Choy. On the other hand, I feel like I got cheated out of some of my produce.

The leeks, collard greens, and chard all went into one meal – a highly modified version of Bon Appetite’s “quick collard greens with Merquez sausage and couscous.” The recipe is modified for two reasons: (1) I wanted to use the unique produce delivered to us in the CSA and (2) Stillwater, OK does not have all the ingredients for this North African dish. This recipe is so modified, that I’m going to share my own recipe, like this is a cooking blog.

DSC00980

Recipe: Seasoned Greens, Sausage, and Couscous

Servings: about 5

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs dark greens, stemmed (I used 1 pound chard and 1 pound collard)
  • 1 lb spicy sausage (I used Johnsonville’s “hot and spicy” brats, but chorizo or merguez would also work)
  • ½ cup water
  • 1 cup chopped leek (or onion would also work)
  • ¼ tsp dried crushed red pepper
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • ¼ tsp ground cumin
  • ¼ tsp ground cinnamon
  • 10 ounces plain couscous, cooked according to package directions

Preparation:

  1. Bring large pot of salted water to boil; add collard greens and boil until soft, about 3 minutes for sturdy greens, like collard greens, and 1 minute for more delicate greens, like chard.
  2. Drain, reserving 1 cup cooking liquid. Cool greens and cut into 1-inch strips.
  3. Cook sausages according to instructions. Remove sausage and place on plate with paper towels to drain some grease.
  4. Add oil to skillet if needed. Add leeks and sauté until translucent (about 4 minutes – a bit longer for onions). Add dried crushed red pepper, garlic, cinnamon, and cumin. Stir 1 minute. Add greens and cook 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add reserved 1 cup cooking liquid to skillet; bring to simmer. Partially cover pan and cook until liquid has reduced slightly, about 5 minutes.
  5. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
  6. Divide couscous among plates. Top with greens and cut-up sausages.

I pickled the chard stems. I like pickled cucumbers. I hate pickled beets. I’ll let you know how these taste next week.

DSC00982

Scott’s favorite vegetable is green beans, so we ate those plain (with buffalo flavored chickenless nuggets). And I snacked on the lettuce. I love veggies that don’t require much preparation!

This week, it was easier to eat our CSA. I don’t know if that’s because we skipped last week with our vacation, so I was more rested. Or if this week was easier because we got less produce. Maybe a combination of the two.

2 thoughts on “CSA: Week 11”

  1. It’s fun to see the produce from different regions, even ones not so far away. We haven’t had collards in our Texas CSA for a couple of months.

Leave a Reply

